I’m Still Here

2022 NASCAR Style Wheel

Where to begin… Well, I guess I should say I still suck at blogging. Even though I have so much I want to say, I keep it mostly bottled up inside. Every time I’ve come here to share what I’ve been up to, I want to vent so much. I end up just closing the web page and say screw it. As you can tell by the date of my last blog post, it’s been a long while since I’ve said anything. So I guess enough of the bullshit talk and let me talk about that image above.

I haven’t stopped modeling, messing with graphic design, or even website stuff. I just haven’t felt like sharing it. The wheel you see above is different this time around… The last time I posted renders of my models, they were made in 3ds Max. That there is rendered in Blender. I finally grabbed the program after the 2.8 update and was astonished how much better it got. Renders were looking great, materials were easier to make. The whole program was so much better. I’m still working on getting better with it, but man I’m loving it. 3ds Max costs so much while Blender is completely free. There are things 3ds Max does better, but no doubt Blender has become one of my new favorite tools. Hell, I even purchased Substance Painter and Designer off Steam… Holy shit a perpetual license for a (now) Adobe product still exists. I put those to use quick with that wheel there. And my old wheel too that I’ve talked about on here. Let me show you how it looks now.

My old NASCAR Goodyear Tire and Aero Rim

And again, rendered in Blender. In fact I remodeled the whole thing in Blender at one point for practice. You’ve seen the wheel in it’s earlier days if you’ve read this blog. The whole thing had been redone and I used Substance Painter to create the new materials for it. Looks even more legit now.

I just wanted to post something on here for now. Maybe this post will get me in a better mood than I have been in and I’ll post more updates and address a few things that I need to get off my chest.

Leave a comment